I am a Biblical Unitarian

No! Not me! I am referring to something written by a friend of a friend. Before posting this on my blog, I asked for his permission so that we could have an open, public discussion. After all, Christianity is not a secret, private religion, but its doors have always been open to the public. He has agreed. So I am posting his initial paper explaining why he thinks being a “Biblical Unitarian” makes the best sense of the scriptures. I will followup with my response shortly. Feel free to comment yourself, I only ask that we keep things civil, and I reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments. Here is his paper:

Biblical Unitarian

Yes I am a Biblical Unitarian. It’s a fancy way of saying that I think the Father alone is God (John 17:3) and that Jesus the Messiah is His Son. If you know about Unitarian’s then you know that for the most part, many of them are Universalists of which I am not. I am a Unitarian because I believe the Bible teaches it, hence “Biblical Unitarian”. So I want to share what is it that I believe more fully, so that you may obtain a better picture of what I believe. So I will start with God the Father, then Jesus Christ.

The Father

            I believe that God is the Father alone; that He is the only true God (John 17:3, Jn 5:44, Mk 12:29, 1 Cor 8:6, 1 Tim 1:17, Is 45:5). He alone created the universe and everything in it (Is 45:12), and there is no one else besides Him or equal to Him. He cannot die, cannot lie, He is eternal, invisible, the one true God. I believe that at the end when all things are made new, He will be honored as the one true God and that He will be all in all (1 Cor 15:28). Everyone and everything gives Him glory. (Eph 3:20-21)

The Son

            I believe that Jesus Christ is the Messiah, the Son of God, and yes not God. I believe that in Him dwells all the fullness of God (His Father). Therefore the love of God, the wisdom of God, the power of God, all the qualities of God can be seen in this man Jesus. Jesus makes the invisible God known, hence the image of the invisible God (Col 1:15, Heb 1:3).That He is the Word made flesh, (By the way I think the Word is wisdom, which becomes flesh:  WordàFlesh=WisdomàJesus) That he is supernaturally conceived by the power and spirit of God in the womb of his mother Mary and therefore is the Son of God (Luke 1:35). He considered the only (unique) begotten Son – which is the heir of all creation (Col 1:16, Heb 1:2) and given supreme rule at the right hand of God. He died for this assertion because of the Jews (Mk 14:61-62) under Pilate as “King of Israel” (John 19:19) However God vindicated His son by raising Him from the dead (Rom 1:4). God raised Him up and gave Him a name above every name. I believe that He is the head of the Church. I believe that Jesus was made Lord by God through obeying Him to his death. Also I believe that by honoring him as Lord, we give glory to God! [the Father] (Phil 2:9-11).  I believe that by confessing Him as our Lord, and believing in our heart that God (the Father) raised Him from the dead, we are saved. I believe that He truly is a man, not dual-natured, but a man born of God. He is the second Adam, like the first, except never sinned, and purchased with His blood us back to God (His & Our Father) I believe that He is the mediator between God and man (1 Tim 2:5). As you can tell I think there is a distinction between Lord God and Lord Messiah Jesus. I believe that we have one God and one Lord (1 Cor 8:6) as mentioned in the opening of all the letters to the churches. To best describe the relationship it is like the Pharaoh and Joseph. Joseph was made Lord of all of Egypt by the Pharaoh, equal except that the Pharaoh is the one who sits on the throne. In the same way Jesus is at the right hand of God, executing the will of God: judging, healing, delivering, empowering, etc. on God’s behalf. He is doing all these things to bring glory to God.  However as I stated earlier, Jesus will at the end, give His power and authority back to God that God may be all in all. (Eph 3:20-21)

The Holy Spirit

            I believe that the Holy Spirit is the power and presence/influence of God (the Father) and/or Jesus after the resurrection. Christ was given this power after His resurrection in order to rule on God’s behalf (Acts 2:33) The Spirit of God is the spirit of the Father. The Spirit of Jesus is essentially Jesus. Just as if I were to refer to my own spirit, I would not be talking about a separate person. [Ex. My spirit is willing but my body is weak (Mat 26:41)] Jesus did miracles by the finger of God (the Holy Spirit) which would be understood as the power of God (Luke 11:20), not a separate person from the Father. Once again, when the spirit of our Father (the Holy Spirit) speaks through us when we are under pressure (Mat 10:19-20), that IS the Father speaking, not another person.

Being a Biblical Unitarian does not have to do with other issues, it is not a denomination or church. It is a view of God & Christ.

One God & One Lord

One comment

Leave a Reply

