The Stump on the Golf Course

No! I don’t play golf. But there’s a golf course across the street from where I live. I often go there at night. It’s a beautiful place!

There’s a stump on the golf course where I like to sit. It must have been a big tree because it is rather large. I sit there and commune with God. Sometimes I pour out my heart when I’m frustrated and feeling like nothing is working. Other times I just bask in God’s presence and thank him for the joy of ministry, as hard as it sometimes is. I would not want to be doing anything else! And then sometimes I just kneel on the finely cut grass and pray for people I know, pray for their health and well being, pray for their families, and for their spiritual growth.

Many years ago, at another church, a fine, handsome, athletic gentleman starting attending. He told me he had been a Christian for a very long time, but that he never bothered about church. He was a hard working man, and he spent whatever leisure time he had on the weekends indulging his passion for golf. So, Sunday mornings were spent on the golf course. I will never forget the twinkle in his eye when he said to me, “the golf course was my sanctuary!”

Now here I am, sitting on a stump on a golf course, spending time with God!

Why do you come to church? Aren’t there better things for you to be doing on the weekends with whatever leisure time you have left? Can’t you commune with God anywhere? Can’t a golf course become a sanctuary? Sure

But…

it’s not about you. It’s about your church family. How sad that family feels when you don’t even bother to show up. There’s this grandma in the church who never fails to check up LifeSpring’s worship service because she wants to know if her grandchildren are there that day. And I feel for her because I see the pain in her face when they’re not there. And I rejoice with her when she sees them there.

What’s your golf course? Is that really your sanctuary?

4 comments

  1. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  2. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  3. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

